US not on EU's list of 'safe' travel destinations, say diplomats

US not on EU’s list of ‘safe’ travel destinations, say diplomats

BRUSSELS (BELGIUM) – The United States is not on a “safe list” of destinations for non-essential travel that is to be unveiled by European Union governments later on Tuesday, three diplomats said.

The 27-member bloc is slated to give outline approval to leisure or business travel from Wednesday to 14 countries outside the bloc when they take a vote on the list, the diplomats said.

The countries comprise Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, they said.

Russia and Brazil, along with the United States, are among countries that are not in the “safe list”.

The vote is aimed at boosting the EU travel industry and tourist destinations.

China would also be provisionally approved. But travel would only open up if Chinese authorities also allowed in EU visitors.

The list must be vetted by a “qualified majority” of EU countries, meaning 15 nations representing 65% of the population. Four EU diplomats said they expected it to secure the required backing.

The EU’s efforts to reopen internal borders, particularly among the 26-nation Schengen area which normally has no frontier checks, have been patchy as various countries have restricted access for certain visitors.

British residents can also travel to many EU countries, although non-essential travellers to Britain are required to undergo quarantine for 14 days.

(Photos syndicated via Reuters)
This story has been edited by BH staff and is published from a syndicated field

Related Posts