Gearing up for EURO 2020: Turkey and Italy to kickstart the championship
June 19, 2021

Gearing up for EURO 2020: Turkey and Italy to kickstart the championship

The world is gearing up for 2020 UEFA European Football Championship (EURO 2020), the international men’s football championship of Europe helmed by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA), which will start off on June 11. This time, the quadrennial championship will mark its 16th such sports event. As football aficionados all over the world are going gaga over EURO 2020, Google also joined the bandwagon with their quirky doodle of their own.

The tournament was originally slated to be held from 12 June to 12 July 2020. However, it was suspended, after being struck by the COVID-19 pandemic in Europe. The rescheduled championship will kickstart from 11 June to 11 July 2021.

The games were originally touted to be played at 13 venues, but two hosts were later removed, which includes Brussels and Dublin, due to a few hassles. Spain also switched their host city from Bilbao to Seville, allowing audience at matches.

The opening game will be held at Stadio Olimpico, Rome, and will have Turkey and hosts Italy playing opposite each other. 

Having won the 2016 competition, the Portugal team are the defending champions. The video assistant referee (VAR) system will be introduced at the European Championship during this tournament.

Wembley Stadium in London will host the semi-finals and finals, marking the second time it is being held in the venue. EURO 2020 will see 24 teams from across Europe vying for the alluring winner’s trophy.

The teams will be divided into six groups.  Teams from Italy, Switzerland, Turkey and Wales have been listed in Group A. Belgium, Denmark, Finland and Russia will be in Group B. The next, Group C will have Austria, Netherlands, North Macedo and Ukraine. Croatia, Czech Republic, England and Scotland have been placed in Group D. While countries such as Poland, Slovakia, Spain and Sweden will come under Group E, the last one of them all under Group F will have France, Germany, Hungary and Portugal.

Related Posts